Refurbishing Pellet Stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jandjmathis

Sep 7, 2011
Wahington
Hey all, for the last 4-5 weeks I've been tearing apart an older Quadra-Fire - Santa Fe pellet stove that I've had for about a year from Craigslist. Works like a champ, it's just aged and the previous owner let water drip on it, so it has lost of rust everywhere. I'm cleaning every single part of this pellet stove, and am repainting the entire thing.

Just a quick rundown on what I've done. This is my first time doing this, so it's been a learning experience to say the least. At first I thought "Sand Blasting will make quick work out of this!". Little did I know that sand blasting would make quick work out of my patience. So after fighting through a few pieces with a sand blaster (and a few valves later) I decided to try something different. Got some paint remover from O'Reily's and that worked beautifully on the paint. However it did nothing for the rust. So I went back to the drawing board and decided to try Electrolysis...and let me tell you the Angels did sing. Not only did it get rid of the rust completely, it also softened the paint, so that I could use a random orbit sander to make quick work out of the rest.