Regency i3100

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

John Rubbo

Oct 23, 2012
Hi All,

I'm a newbie here. Live in PA and just purchased an i3100 insert. Had a few questions about it if you would be so kind as to give me some insight :)

1. when starting, i notice that i smoke up my entire house (my fiance does not like this at all). any suggestions on how to minimize this?

2. seems like when i push my draft control all the way in, the fire goes out within 10-15 min. i thought this was the setting to get sustained/efficient burns?

3. in your experience, what is the best type of wood to burn in these things? i've heard oak, cherry and maple are all good but i'm still a novice with burning.

4. the installer said i should be able to get 10-12 hr burns (the manufacterer states the same). so far im lucky if i get 3-4 hrs. maybe use a diff type of wood?

5. i do have central AC and one of my buddies suggested i could turn my AC fan on to "circulate" the hot air. Does anyone have any experience with this? My return vent for the AC is conveniently located right above the wood stove.

I really want to prove to my fiance that this stove can be the primary source to heat our 2000 sq foot (open floor concept) home this winter...she certainly has her doubts.

Any info you guys/gals can provide would be helpful!

Thanks,

Jack

Tell us when you cut, split and stacked your firewood, and what species of wood you are burning. It sure sounds like you are trying to burn wood that has too high a moisture content: ie, has not had a long enough period stacked for drying.