Remodel to contemporary fireplace

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

aquapura

Sep 17, 2008
Mpls
Newbie here looking for some help. My wife and I doing a top to bottom remodeling of our 1960's built home in Mpls, MN. The house has an over-under masonry fireplace with openings in the basement and on the main level. Each opening is 18" deep + approx 4" for the brick veneer, 28" high, 37" wide at front and 32" wide at back. Both flues are clay lined 8" x 13" rectangular. The remodel of our home is a much more contemporary city look. I'm also an architect by profession and quite particular about the design. We want a flat look with floating hearth and mantle. Planning to either cover or replace the existing masonry with furring, cement board and stone tiles. Now trying to match a fireplace to that design. After visiting some local dealers we've more or less written off the N. American built inserts. This house is in the city, not the northwoods. I've spent some time searching hearth.com researching the more contemporary fireplaces available and am still left with some questions.

First off, local dealers have quoted $1200 + materials for a full insert install including chimney relining. I'm quite handy and would think this is something a DIY can tackle. Am I out of my league? Also, is removing existing dampers a difficult task? I haven't looked too close yet but am willing to get dirty to save $1200.