Removing a few flue bricks?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mikeyboat

Nov 29, 2010
East TN
I'd like to install an old wood stove in my house. The chimney is in good condition (brick w/ clay tiles) but the flue is extremely narrow. Is it generally a good idea/OK to remove a couple of the bricks in the flue to allow the vent pipe to pass through? I'm thinking at the least I'd have to take out 3 bricks, at most 7. Pretty sure the pipe is 6" and I want to run it all the way to the top.

Dang...nadda? I know I'm a newbie, but someone has to have a little insight to share...Seems to me something has to go to run the pipe from the back of the stove through the flue...there is no damper, but the bottleneck is way too small for a 6" rigid pipe...any info or opinions are greatly appreciated...

MH

I had to do that very thing. The top of my fireplace was a piss poor attempt at a Rumfort design that did nothing but push alot of smoke back into the room. It also left me with a very skinny opening, only 4 1/2 inches, and 2 very tight bends. There was also a lintle on both sides of the opening. So after sitting in my fireplace for a while pondering, looking long and hard to make sure that lintle wasn't structural for the rest of the chimney, I cut out the lintle and knocked out the bricks I needed to give me a straiter run and larger opening.