Replacing a Scan 61 - Thoughts on New Stoves

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

SBlackstone

Aug 20, 2012
MA
Gentlemen, Ladies.

I have gained a tremendous amount of info from your posts. I am new to wood burning stoves.

I am in need of your thoughts. I am looking to replace a Scan 61 (big embarrassing purchase – Blinded by the look, $, and forgot the rest) with a newer, more efficient stove. I live In NE, my house is a ranch style, on a slab and about 2300 sq ft open space design.

The issue is which stove to choose, and concern of where stove is be located: on the farthest corner of the house as I need to move heat through a large room with a high ceiling, large windows (location of wood stove) to the other side where the bedrooms are located.

I have looked at the PE “The Summit” Fusion, Jotul F 50 TL Rangley, Quadra-Fire Step-Top 4300 and the Regency CS2400.

I have added a diagram for additional info.

Any thoughts would be appreciated,

Sam

Attachments

• house diagram1.JPG
    house diagram1.JPG
    8.9 KB · Views: 210
Have you used the scan 61? Or did you buy it used and since decided not to install it?

What are your heating goals? Do you plan on burning 24/7 and not wanting the furnace to run? Do you want to burn for ambiance only? Do you simply want to supplement your heating needs?

Also, I'm guessing the kitchen is in the upper right hand corner of your picture?

Welcome to the site!

pen

Reactions: BrowningBAR
Have you used the scan 61? Or did you buy it used and since decided not to install it?