Replacing the old Blaze King

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

GrampaDennis

Nov 19, 2012
Central Maine
Hi - I'm new here. If I gave my entire woodburning history, and the history of the stove I'm now looking to replace, this would be a very long post. I'll give the "Reader's Digest" version here, and fill in more details if anyone is interested. I have been burning wood almost continuously since 1979. Here is the old Blaze King Royal Heir, Model RHT-2100, installed in my living room. The TV and stand have been replaced since the photo.
P1020905.JPG

This stove has had at least 3 owners, and is 25 years old or more. We have owned and used it since we were finishing our new home, in the late fall of 2004. The catalyst has been replaced at least twice that I know of. It would need replacing again, if I continued to use it (there are big holes in the cat now). The stove has been overfired many times, and the top baffle is buckled badly. The pops, snaps and banging noises with temperature changes have become a bit disconcerting. My wife and I have decided to retire the poor old sweetheart, and buy a new EPA stove.