round size

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

relax

ive been cutting live bur oak,and wont be burning it for about 4 or 5 years,im storing it inside a metal building ,cuz i have lots of empty buildings,,just wondering whats the biggest diameter rounds i can season and still burn in 4--5 years and what size splits ..thanks to all that chime in...

If I don't split it, I inevitably get sizzlers no matter what the size round. So, everything gets split. Given the option, I split 8x8s.

Oak is slow. I will agree with Solar. On the off chance that one ends up not needing the wood, split wood has value, unsplit doesn't.

In a pinch I'd leave stuff up to 10" unsplit if I knew I wouldn't need it for 5 years.

SolarAndWood said:
If I don't split it, I inevitably get sizzlers no matter what the size round. So, everything gets split. Given the option, I split 8x8s.
How long are yur rounds, I have some 6 inch oak rounds that are 17% in the middle when I split them, I think cut the rounds short (16inch) and let the set in single rows in the sun for 2 years and they should be good.

oldspark said:
How long are yur rounds

I cut very little of my wood but when I do it is 18 which is ideal NS for my stove. The sizzlers I used to get were few and far between, just irritated me enough to split everything and not worry about it.