Runaway stove1

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

sixman

Feeling the Heat
Hearth Supporter
Apr 12, 2010
Central Texas
Okay I am new to wood burning and have been on here for a while and know what to look out for when loading a stove especially an EPA stove. However I just loaded my Lopi Endeavor with a light load of red coals in the bottom with some good super dry rounds. I had the secondary closed and the primary air shut all the way down after letting a good blaze get going and it just ran away. I am talking 800 when I noticed and made it up to 850 before I said screw it and put on some gloves and took all the wood out. I tried opening the bypass, hoping that it would let some of the wood gas go up the flue but it just kept climbing. With the primary closed, I could not get the fire to stop on the wood. Always before it would snuff the fire on the wood and move it up to the top but not this time. How do I prevent this? This is the place that I have found all my answers and I know it is operator error but a guy has to be able to load the stove before bed without fear of burning the house down and that does not seem possible after this.

Silly question but do you have an ask door and pan on your stove? I had the same "sorta" thing happen to me the other day. What happened was a small piece of unburned wood coals from a previous burn got caught in the ash door when I cleaned the stove out, leaving just a 1/4" or less gap in the ash door. This caused my fire to burn out of control. Even with the air shut all the way, it still burned like an inferno. Just a thought...