Running electricity to outside shed?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

edge-of-the-woods

Feeling the Heat
Nov 21, 2014
Hamden, CT USA
Hi all,

So I have run my share of wire in new houses and outside before, but always for audio systems. This is my first time running power out to a location outside, but I am not a stranger to conduit, pulling wire, etc.

We need to keep the water for our chickens from freezing over the winter, and I am going to use a pipe heater cable to do that ( http://www.homedepot.com/p/Frost-King-6-ft-Electric-Water-Pipe-Heat-Cable-HC6A/202262328 ).

Problem is getting power out to the coop, it's about 150' away from the house. I can easily get wires outside, and run them through 1" metal conduit out to the coop, then set up an outdoor outlet on the outside of the run.

No idea what gauge wire to use, though. Any recommendations? I know I can't just pull romex through, it has to be black/white/ground pulled together.

Thanks!

I've done this a few times. Use a 20 amp 120 volt circuit breaker to feed 12 gauge THHN/THWN. You can upsize this if you want to 10 gauge but I wouldn't. I am not afraid of voltage drop on a residential circuit. Your heat tape won't care. Be sure that your spool of wire is long enough to make it without a splice.

Lay the conduit (I use plastic) and then vacuum a pull string through and then pull the wires through all at once. I would go inside the shed with the circuit and then mount an outlet to the outside fed from the inside. GFCI of course.