1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Running my Hastings on a thermostat?

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Brianxman, Dec 13, 2012.

  1. Brianxman

    Brianxman New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Loc:
    vergennes, VT
    With the thermostat connected and calling for heat and the stove in T-Stat Mode, the pellet stove does not react (the power light blinks and remains on idle or setting 1), it still thinks the thermostat is satisfied even though it is 60 in the room and the t-stat is set to 80. I have tested the thermostat by checking the continuity when it is calling and that is working, how do I test the thermostat circuit in the control board? I am using a honeywell programmable thermostat. I have tied 2 different themostats with the same results.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,087
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Did you change the t-stat mode switch on the stove and make certain that the connection is actually being made on that end and that the wiring is fine and that the battery is the one the t-stat maker says to use?
  3. imacman

    imacman Guest

    I you twist the stat wires together at the stat end, will the stove run then?
  4. Brianxman

    Brianxman New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Loc:
    vergennes, VT
    If I take the thermostat out of the loop and jumper the black and red thermostat terminals on the stove that should get it running.. right? The stove works great in manual mode. But in the two thermostat modes it does not. If I take a reading with an DMM at the terminals on thestove what should I get?
  5. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,087
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Maybe 5 volts ....

    But jumping the t-stat connections and setting the stove to a t-stat mode and turning it on should start it up to the heat setting you have it set to.
  6. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,087
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Now at the t-stat you need the wires on the Rh and W terminals and the t-stat set for heat only.
  7. imacman

    imacman Guest

    Don't know if this is the same for this stove, but typically on the Englander's, you need to have the stove shut off, then connect the t-stat, turn the stat up past room temp so you hear it "click", and then go hit the on button on the stove......once the stove starts, then the stat will run it no problem.
  8. Brianxman

    Brianxman New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Loc:
    vergennes, VT
    I will give that a try, everything seems connected corectly. I was running it last night in t stat mode with the thermostat as high as it would go and measured the continuity at the stove so I know that it was calling for heat. Does the power light stay blinking all of the time while in this mode? or only when the it thinks the heat is satisfied? Mine blinks constantly while in t stat mode. This does not seem like it should be too hard to figure out, I am an electronics Technician and am very comfortable probing through the controller board if I had the schematics. I just want to confirm that all of the simple things are not overlooked. Thanks for the help
  9. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,087
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    The controller should give the same indication it does when in manual mode when the stove is off as far as the light between the auger button and power button when in low mode and be on solid when the t-stat calls for heat.

    The auger light should blink all of the time in t-stat mode.

    Now it is not unknown for the switches on the controllers to not always be aligned with the panel such that they actually are where you think they are. Do not attempt to check this possibility out without the stove being off, cold, and unplugged.

    To rule the t-stat completely out disconnect the wire at the t-stat and short the ends together, the stove should go to high heat mode (that is the rate you set on the controller, the firing rate should then follow any change to it that you make at the controller).

Share This Page