Safety Questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ESP41

Jan 23, 2010
Maryland
1st Post-so stats 1st. I have a Grizzly FP1-2 LEX/90. The builder installed it in 1995. Firebox is about 18"D x 21" W. It has a cat. Derco, maker of this Grizzly, is out of business. I never recieved the manual for this stove and cannot find one (anybody have one they can copy for me??). I burn about 2 cords a year (Dec-March). I know no one with a stove- so I have self taught myself. Not the best situation, but at least I have not burned down the house . The stove heats a 1500 sq ft basement and some of the floor above it (I am starting to work on improving the circulation between floors).

Grizzly2027.gif

My last chimney cleaner had a fit when he saw my stove. The stove pipe has a 8" to 6" reducer to meet up with the 6" triple lined stainless steel flue. He said it is a hazard and does not meet current building code. Of course he offered to install a new stove for $3,700.00.

Grizzly2022.gif

IIRC, the builder mentioned the reducer and said because the chimney was so tall (37') that the draft was more than sufficient and that the building inspector passed it. I have never had any problems getting a draft. But, the sticker on the back of the stove says to use an 8" stovepipe/flue.

So who is right- the sweep or the builder?

This same chimney cleaner reinstalled the stovepipe with a slight gap between the stovetop and the reducer. Look at the picture, just left of center front on the pipe. I think this could lead to a runaway chimney fire. Am I right to be concerned?