same problem after new relief valve/expansion tank

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

knix333

Dec 21, 2015
NY
Hi all,

Gas boiler. I'm not an expert, just a wannabe DIYer.

woke up saturday to a bucket full of water off the relief valve. not sure if that was the problem so i replaced both that and the expansion tank (which was waterlogged) the day after.

anyway, everything was fine after install. bled the lines. started the boiler up and inspected for leaks every 30 minutes. 5 hours later...woooosh! about a quarter of a bucket of water from the PRV as I was watching it turn on. I'm assuming my gauge is shot because the pressure is stuck at 15, but temp on the gauge goes up and down when boiler calls for heat. drained it again and no leaking for the next hour

woke up today and you guessed it, another 1/2 bucket of water. what else could it be. gonna try and get a new gauge and new PRV again, but would like to hear your thoughts....

thanks

More info needed. Exact type of expansion tank & size, system size, complete range of temperatures, exact procedure you used, and maybe pictures. You will also need a new pressure guage to try to figure out what's happening - that is the first order of business. And if you can plumb in two pressure guages while you are at it (preferably at different spots in the system), even better - they can go wonky & it's good to have more than one. I think I have 8 guages in total at different places on my system, overkill but that's what I ended up with.

thank you very much. ok, let me try....and yes, planning to get another gauge.