Saw goes dull quick..

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Dustin

Minister of Fire
Sep 3, 2008
Western Oregon
Alright Hearth.com experts, I need your help!

This is my first year cutting my own wood. I have some family with property, and a bunch of down trees.

Anyway, for some reason, my chain is going dull FAST. I know that your never supposed to hit the ground, but i'm having a hard time avoiding this, are there any tips or tricks to keep from hitting the ground? Some of the rounds are big, so putting somthing under the tree is dangerous, and not possible. Do you stop your cut short and do something to bust it the rest of the way off?

Also, when I don't hit the ground, I still notice the saw going dull. Am I cutting for too long at a time? I'm running the saw non-stop cutting until it runs out of gas, putting more gas in it, and then going at it again till it runs out.

I look at the chain and notice it looks like, well, hot metal, nice purple hot colors. Will heating the chain up that much make it go dull fast?

I know some of these seem like dumb questions, but, i'm new!

Thanks guys
D/F

What are you running? Saw and chain.

Aside from that, don't hit the dirt. Stop short and then roll the log to finish the cuts. Maybe 4-5 worth. You could get a timberjack and lift the wood to cut clean through the round.

Are you running bar oil? I know you mentioned gas but didn't see anything on oil. Your purple chain indicates not enough oil. You don't want colored chain. Silver is the way it should look.

Bar oil every time..