Sawdust = Bad?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

pulke01

Nov 13, 2014
Worcester, MA
Hi All,

Last month, under the advice of the pellet guru's, I tried ten bags of pellets before committing to a full ton.

My Quadra-Fire castile insert seemed to take well to them. (I'm still a rookie so I certainly won't bet the mortgage on my last sentence). I ended up with Maine Woods...these one's are a blend. The ten bags that I tried burned fairly well. I did not notice a lot of clinkers and cleaned the stove after day five.

So I ordered two tons. The ones I have now seem to have some sawdust at the bottom of each bag. Should I be concerned with the hopper getting too hot and igniting the sawdust? Does it build up at the bottom of the feed chute? Should I run the stove until it runs out and vacuum the bottom of the hopper. Without pulling the unit apart, this seems like quite a process.

The stove is my main source of heat for the house, and I do not want to have to worry about this when I am not home.

Granted that there are so many pellet manufacturers out there, it's tough to decide what is going to work for me. Or is it? A friend told me that he ordered the exact same brand two years in a row, with two VERY different results.

As always, I am very appreciative of all the feedback from you veterans of the pellet world.

Thanks,

Keith

Hi All,

Last month, under the advice of the pellet guru's, I tried ten bags of pellets before committing to a full ton.