Scan 60 wood stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
PM member precaud about the 60. I believe he had one. Scan makes good stoves.

Nope, never had a Scan. But I looked at the Scan 60 a couple years ago, the local dealer had one up and running, I was very impressed by it.

Scan makes fantastic stoves. Jotul bought them a few years back.

I have the Scan 61, which has the same guts as the Scan 60 but has a more angular exterior style. I only fired it up for the first time about two weeks ago and I am new to wood-burning so I don't have a lot of experience with it.

That said, here are the things I like about the Scan so far:
- slim profile doesn't overwhelm the narrow room it is in
- contemporary design without the usual massive price premium for modern styling
- gigantic front glass for viewing the fire
- tons of heat comes through the glass while the body of the stove stays relatively cool

Things I am still trying to figure out:
- how to fill the narrow, tall firebox without having the splits fall onto the glass (this hasn't actually happened since I only put in 2-3 splits at a time)
- how to run the stove to get extended/overnight burns (I know this is related to the point above)
- how/whether to run the stove hotter. My Condar flue gas thermometer typically hovers around 400 deg even with the damper wide open. This may be a function of my wood or my short-ish chimney. Others have commented that the Scan stoves like to burn very hot. Perhaps the Skamol is just very efficient at throwing the heat into the room instead of sending it up the chimney.

Happy shopping!