Schooling myself...

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

VAfarmer38

Aug 31, 2015
Central VA
I've been cutting wood for about 5 years now for myself and I never really paid a ton of attention to what type of wood I was cutting. I just always assumed it was some sort of oak or poplar because they are abundant in my area. The majority of tress I cut up are blow downs or what I like to call volunteer trees. I don't fell anything unless it's absolutely needed. Well the past few weeks I've been trying hard to pay attention to identifying what type of tree I'm cutting, splitting, stacking and eventually burning. I scored a good 60' sugar maple double yesterday that was dying on my neighbors place. Had my buddy bring his bucket truck and we made short work of it. Still got about one load on the ground to bring home but it's a good feeling knowing exactly what type of wood I'm working with.

Reactions: Oldman47
Easy way to tell oak vs poplar: poplar is light weight, cuts easy, splits easy, dries easy and burns fast. I love ether one but oak is great for long overnight burns.

Reactions: VAfarmer38
It's important to know what you are working with, as it helps you for planning purposes. I'd rather use the softer woods during the shoulder season and save the good stuff for when winter has really set it. Oak and locust are great for overnight or all-day burns. Pine and poplar are great for burning down a coal bed or getting a quick, hot fire going. Nearly all species available to me has it's place in my stacks and stoves. It all provides heat. Managing when to use it is the fun part!