Seal the stone mantel?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

LRCRUE08

Mar 2, 2007
MADISON, CONNECTICUT
Hey guys,
After lurking around here for about a year now, I have found a ton of great information that I must thank all of you for. Since I am new to the wood game I bought the Jotul F3 CB this year to supplement my oil situation. I converted a gas fireplace back to wood. When I bought the house, the brick was painted and there was a wood mantel. I replaced the wood mantel with a stone slab for clearence and scrubbed the paint off the brick with a variety of strippers. There is now 20 inches between the top of the stove and the bottom of the stone mantel.
I worry that this unsealed mantel will be heat stained? Is this something I should worry about or am I just being over anal? I am just afraid to seal the stone as this will change the color of the mantel. Thanks again for all of your advice.

Attachments

• DSCF0010 (2) 411.jpg
    DSCF0010 (2) 411.jpg
    139.9 KB · Views: 534
There are sealers out there that once that are applied and allow to "dry", you can't even tell they were sealed. I must clarify, my knowledge of sealing stone and grout is from the floor covering end of it and not from the fireplace end of it. Why do I mention that? Because my concerns about the sealer and heat.