Seasoned my a$$!!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Tansao

Dec 30, 2010
Worcester, MA
This is my first year burning so I wasn't amassing my own wood last year so I have to rely on bought cords. I had been using wood from a guy my best friend has been using, but last week he said the wood he has left is seasoned but wet from snow melt. So, I looked around craiglist and google searches and found a company that said their wood was seasoned 1.5 years and dry for the same price.

He came by the other day and dropped it off. I had again specifically asked how long it's been seasoned. He replied 1.5 years.

Upon inspection, this stuff was as green as a gooses turd. So I called to ask him what he was going to do. During the conversation, he said it has been seasoned 1.5 years. Further prodding - his version of seasoned means leaving the full length timbers on the ground for 1.5 years, not split and stacked seasoned. His solution was to give me 1/4 cord of ash which he says you can burn freshly cut. He says "This is why I avoid getting new customers. If you know how to burn species, then you'd be fine. I got 50 customers that order a cord of this wood every three weeks. Nobody is gonna bother to season by splitting and stacking."

At least my regular guy was able to get me a real seasoned cord for tomorrow after laughing at me.

This is a company in Central MA that sells this as a business. PM if you want the name to avoid.

That guy is quite a businessman - "That is why I avoid getting new customers?"