Seasoning firewood

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

lpp5855

Nov 13, 2009
North Jersey
GREAT Info on this site. I have been visiting it for a couple of years and finally decided to become a member. My friends and I are definitely wood scroungers...if we find out that there is firewood to be had, we go and get it. We don't always know if it is for the taking though, in which case we end up "cuttin' paranoid"and worry that someone is going to show up and say we can't have it...no trespassing laws have been broken yet! Sometimes it is questionable though. Here are some pictures of the loot. Wood piles for 2009-10, 2010-11, and just started for 2012.

Attachments

• wood piles.jpg
    wood piles.jpg
    40 KB · Views: 2,122
  • 001.jpg
    001.jpg
    36.9 KB · Views: 2,107
  • 002.jpg
    002.jpg
    40.7 KB · Views: 2,123
Is it because I am a "firestarter" that my picture does not appear next to my thread?

Click on "Your Control Panel" at the top of the page and add an "avatar" and that will be the pic that shows up by your name.

Got it. Thanks moderator. And thanks fyrwood... its about 12 cords total.

Cuttin'

Nice stacking, I am envious of your neat and straight standing stacks. As I am always looking for tips and tricks for keeping my stack upright, any chance you could repost the pics with the image size a little larger? I am trying to see how you mixed the "cross stacking" in the rows.... thanks for sharing

Beautiful! I love pictures of firewood, and you got some real nice firewood there.