Seasoning wood on Vancouver Island

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

WestCoastIslander

Dec 10, 2018
Victoria, BC
Hi everyone,

I'm brand new to wood burning but we just moved to a house with a beautiful stove this October so am behind the curve with getting set up with seasoned wood for this year.

I bought a cord and a half of mixed wood (fir, cypress, willow, apple, plum) off some guy on craigslist who claimed it was seasoned and needless to say it is not and is not going to be able to burn this winter. Now my problem is trying to figure out the best way to season this wood as we live on Vancouver Island and it is pretty much torrential rain and humid from October to May. Right now I have the wood neatly stacked in our wood shed, but the shed is in the shade and definitely not fully exposed to the wind, although it has a complete opening on one side and slats on the other walls so it has lots of ventilation.

I can't decide whether to re-stack the wood in the shed so it is as spaced out as possible or stack it on pallets out in my yard totally exposed to the elements. It will get soaked being out in the yard but in May-June it will be hot and dry til the end of September so that will be good.

Right now my plan is to leave it in the shed til May and then re-stack it outside then... Is that a good plan for it to be ready to burn next November?

Thanks!

Last edited:
Reactions: AlbergSteve