Seasoning wood with neighbor's rotting woodpile nearby

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jeffee

Nov 1, 2007
Western Ma
Hey Y'all,
I guess I'm a bit concerned about carpenter ants, etc.
Do think this is a problem if I stack 3 cords of wood on pallets, with a neighbor's pile of wood (3 years old) 20 feet near my wood?

Thanks in advance for any advice!

Since your neighbor is letting it rot, you might be able to buy some well seasoned wood at a good price.

Once split wood with carpenter ants in it the ants go away. They need a water supply to survive. A queen carpenter ant will literally drop out of the sky on to your pile and survive or die depending if she finds a nest with water or not. The new hatched queens grow wings an fly once a year it is then usually in late summer to establish new carpenter ant colonies.

Carpenter ants don't actually eat the wood like termites do, they just dig their way into it to make nests, and leave little piles of sawdust (ant dust?) at or near the entrance(s) to the nest. I've split some lodgepole pine that had carpenter ant colonys inside. The ants pretty much just disperse. As the wood dries out, the colony dies out. What they do inside the wood is really pretty fascinating...amazing three-dimensional mazes of tunnels and chambers. Elegantly crafted, smooth corners, interesting. They can do damage to a house or other wooden structure, but not to the degree that termites can, as I understand it.