1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Secondary Burn Stopped in Jotul Firelight 600 - After replacement of parts

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by Sam Droege, Dec 8, 2012.

  1. Sam Droege

    Sam Droege New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    All:

    I have had a Jotul F 600 for about 4 years. It is our primary source of heat and has worked well. At the start of the burn season I replaced the two metal plates that sit atop the burn chamber, installed a new insulation blanket above that and fixed 2 loose secondary burn pipes.

    Afterwords the stove burned fine, but I no longer see any burn occurring from gases coming from the secondary burn pipes. I am wondering if I have blocked something. The bolts were too corroded to take off the metal caps that held the secondary burn pipes but I stuck my finger up there and other than loose fireclay it seemed to be clear.

    Did I perhaps put in the insulation blanket wrong? I have not been able to find an air flow diagram for this stove so I can check or clean out potential clogs.

    Thanks

    sam

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. jotulguy

    jotulguy Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    339
    Loc:
    central Pa
    When you did the work did you happen to take the tubes out of the manifold and possibly have an alinement issue with them now?
  3. Sam Droege

    Sam Droege New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    2 of the 4 tubes were loose. the 2 that I reinstalled I had to install using self taping screws near where they went into the manifold. Should be no issues with holes or flow through. Also the 2 tubes that were also unaffected also no longer reburn. I am thinking that I have somehow blocked the air to the manifolds...but I have no idea where that air is coming from! thanks sam
  4. velvetfoot

    velvetfoot Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,639
    Loc:
    Sand Lake, NY
    I don't have a Jotul, but with the Quads, they had a blanket on top that you had to make sure was positioned properly so it wouldn't block air flow. Not sure if it would affect secondary airflow.
  5. Sam Droege

    Sam Droege New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    That could be it, because I did install a new insulation blanket...which came with no instructions as to good/bad locations. Are their someone intakes to the reburn manifolds at the font or back above the burn box????
  6. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    48,077
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    First check the chimney cap to be sure it's clean. Assuming that the chimney and cap are clean, it could be that the insulation blanket is bunching under the flue collar and restricting draft. When the stove is cold, remove the top. (2? interior bolts hold it down) That way you can be sure that the plates and insulation blanket are laying flat. Then replace the top, being sure that it is seated correctly and parallel to the base of the stove. You don't need to replace the top bolts if you don't want to. The top is gasketed and its weight will hold it firmly in place.
  7. Sam Droege

    Sam Droege New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Many Thanks. Would that also restrict air going to the manifolds? The stove appears to draw air fine and burn fine but it looks like nothing is going through the manifolds to the burn tubes...unlike previous years where is was burning merrily when hot. Also, if I remove the top won't I have to replace the gasket?

    again..thanks
  8. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    48,077
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    No, I don't think it would directly block air to the manifolds. Draft is the engine of the stove. It takes adequate draft to pull air through the secondary passages and up through the burn tubes. If draft is restricted secondary performance will be poor. That's why I suggested looking at the chimney cap screen first.

    No, you will not have to replace the top gasket. It's like a door gasket and designed to facilitate ease of access for regular stove service.
  9. Sam Droege

    Sam Droege New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    5

    Sounds good

    I will give it a try tonight. to dark to check chimney...


    Thanks!

Share This Page