Semi dry vs. 20% ish

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

James02

Feeling the Heat
Aug 18, 2011
N.Y.S.
As a noob I don't have the greatest wood, but it still burns. My question is since my stash is higher in moisture content and it takes more to get hotter and keep going, am I still getting the same results with less (quantity) dryer wood? So would 10 wetter splits = 5 dryer splits? Make sense?...

You will definitely get longer burn times, and longer periods of higher temps with dry wood verses wet wood, so yeah dry wood is more efficient than wet wood.

Dang I can't wait....

James02 said:
As a noob I don't have the greatest wood, but it still burns. My question is since my stash is higher in moisture content and it takes more to get hotter and keep going, am I still getting the same results with less (quantity) dryer wood? So would 10 wetter splits = 5 dryer splits? Make sense?...

Hard to say. I understand your logic. But the fire is using so much energy just to get the water out of the wood I would say it is even less than 10 wetter splits = 5 dryer splits. Mix some dry stuff in with the wet stuff. I know it is easier said than done if you don't have any. But I believe you can find some if you look hard enough. Think finding scrap lumber from construction jobs, lumber yards, craigslist, etc. Talk to people. I find scrap lumber around and keep it for kindling and just supplementing into my fires when it gets really cold. Good luck man. Happy burning. And have a good one.

James02 said: