Service for Wood Gun

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

rlofty

Dec 31, 2014
Massachusetts
I am new to wood furnaces having just bought a house that has a woodgun180. I did receive a short tutorial from previous owner but would like more in depth. Also want to make sure it is operating efficiently. I do also have oil furnace as backup and seem to be burning oil as well as wood. I know there will be some crossover when I shut down to clean etc but just not sure how it all coordinates. Was hoping to find someone who services these or installs in MA

I think that's your best bet, though you might have problems finding someone locally. Wood gasification systems are quite a bit different in some ways from conventional oil and gas systems, and a lot of HVAC pros really don't know that much about them. Unfortunately, the Wood Gun has some significant differences from most other gasifiers, making the process of doping out your system even more challenging. I guess I'd ask around at local HVAC supply houses to see if anyone knows who to call. That said, with the help of the people on this website, you ought to be able to figure it out yourself, which is the best long term strategy.

rlofty,