Servicing Oil Burner

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

n1st

Jun 3, 2007
Enfield, CT
It's about time I service my oil boiler. It's a weil-mclain wtgo-3. I'm no expert, but I manage to change the oil filter, clean the strainer, and change the nozzel witout too much of a problem. The thing I can't stand is brushing between the fingers of all those sections. I last used a Mill Rose 1/2" x 1 tapered brush but still managed to get the handle stuck several times to the point of thinking it wasn't coming out.

So, is there a better way than brushing to clean out the soot? If not, a better technique maybe?

I'm entirely no expert, but I too am contemplating cleaning my boiler (a Burnham).
The manual does give some tips about how to do it without damage.
I watched the technician do it two times and they used brushes and a vacuum.
Maybe a different sized brush could be used.
Is there an igniter that has to be changed regularly?

It's actually the shaft of the wire brush that get's stuck, but maybe there's a secret I need to learn.

Regarding ignition, there are a pair of electrodes. They're pretty forgiving, but you want them spaced correctly and just above the nozzel spray. If your burner is igniting without a pause, don't touch them. When replacing the nozzel, be careful not to bend them!

Thanks for the tip.
I procrastinated this year again and paid to have it done.
Next year for sure, lol.
I mean, I clean my chimney and fix my car, why can't I do an annual oil burner maintenance and save 150 bucks?

Velvet -