Setting up for a wood burning insert...Sierra 4700TE

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

SLOOC1

Jan 7, 2008
MA-VT-RI
Hi,

This site is great....thanks for all of the great info! I have just aquired a used like new Sierra 4700 TE wood burning insert. I will be attemting to install it into my existing chimney. I'm a novice so bear with me! The house is a 2 story colonial the fireplace is located in my family room. The fireplace/chimney is on an end wall on the other side of the wall is an unheated 2 car garage. What I'm looking for is recommendations on how to set this insert up. The chimney is apprx. 25 feet & is in great shape. The stucco 8"x12" liner is in great shape as well as the fireplace itself. The damper is an old style throat type with a screw handle to adjust it. The dimensions of the damper lid are approx. 25"x6". On the stove itself the flue opening is oval which has me stumped as to what to do? The stove manual says to use 6" minimum pipe. The oval opening is 9 3/4" by 4 1/2" which I guess transfers into 8" oval pipe.. Do I need to get a fitting that will take the oval exhaust port on the insert from oval to round? Dp I need to use 8" oval pipe or can I convert to 6" round? I guess I will need to take the damper plate out? Once that is out I will be able to run the liner through easier. So the next question is blocking off the opening where the damper was....I have seen the "do it yourself version" & like the idea. Is there another option or a place that sells a kit that is a fairly easy to install to block off the damper opening & let the liner run through