Sharpen chisel chain with a square file: it's Sharper?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
oldspark said:
I worked on a kill floor for 10 yeas and sharpened knives for my job but a knife is a knife and a skate is a skate so your point is?
My father was a butcher by trade and couldn't sharpen a knife. I don't know what my point is except that whatever your station in life does not guarantee you will be good at it. To your point, just cuz you're good at one thing doesn't mean you'll be good at another.

Try as I may to teach my father how to sharpen a chain, he never could master it. I sharpened every chain he ever had. After I left home, he would just go buy a new chain and save the old ones for when I went to visit him. I even bought him one of those jigs that set all the angles and he still couldn't (wouldn't) learn. If a cheap grinder had been available back then I might have bought him one but I suspect he would still have butchered the chains.

I learned how to sharpen Swede saws very early in life. They are nowhere near as forgiving as chainsaws and will have you veering off in a nasty curve if you butcher it. I file/grind hand saws and circular saws too as well as chisels, drill bits, knives, etc. except for the carbide tipped saws and drill bits.

oldspark said: