Shear Brilliant No. 5 parlor stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ctmixer

Jul 13, 2015
cedar falls iowa
Thought it would be nice to introduce myself- My name is david and im from cedar falls iowa- Im a Ct Tech at our local hospital- have two daughter in college- Im a true believer of the constitution especially the 1st and 2nd amendment- im a antique novice- enjoy collecting guns and coins- have a great river rock stone fireplace with a lot of wood in the garage for the long cold iowa winter- enjoy estate sale and auction and seem to bring home a wood burning stove occasionally where my friends scoop them up for the garage or shed heat.
I think I will enjoy this forum and hope to gain new friends around the country. Know to the meat of this post. came across a very ornate rectangle parlor stove called a "Brilliant N.5 " parlor stove from the Shear and Packard Co- it has two mica window that open up- two lower doors that slide open in the front and a side door that also can open a decorated urn on top
s1.jpg s3.jpg
- in great condition that needed just a little cleaning. Any help- knowledge- history- date- or value would be greatly appreciated. Will read and try to post pictures soon. I come across a lot of different stoves here in iowa especially on farms also so I think I can also help find things you might need.

Wow, Thats Nice......