Short exhaust

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

phordguy

Dec 12, 2010
Huntsville, AL
Everyone can't have a long one but my little stubby 3' 3" horizontal exhaust is mounted through the wall on my US Stove King 5510. Would that be a shortcoming to heat output? It doesn't have a 90 degree Tee or anything outside. I am using the outside air intake vent also with a pvc pipe's id on the od port on the back of the heater.

I am a newbie and have run this thing for 4 days now. I have cleaned all the obvious passages with my shop vac (around fire pot and pulled up the two vertical sliders to left and right and above all around the seal, window and the area above the firepot). I have ran about 6 or 7 bags through it so far. Granted its cold for my area but at 20 ~30 degrees outside I can't get it above 60 degrees. I've tried running it on auto, draft as low as 2 all the way through 9, bumped up the max fuel rate to 5. I have also sealed the ash doors on the floor of ash areas also with silicone. Could my pellets just be that bad? I am burning two 40 lb bags a day. One more interesting tidbit is my firepot doesn't build up with pellets or anything. No smoke from the exhaust except on startup. It runs well just not much heat.

Should I be cleaning it out more or missing something? I can't see how to clean the heat exchangers. Please Help!

chrisfrombama said: