should i keep wood in my empty Sunroom?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

John59DT

Aug 21, 2013
Central MA
hi evryone im new to wood burning, i recently built an addition on my home. thinking of ways to dry my wood alot faster. i currently have a stacked wood pile Measureing 7ft wide 6 tall by 32 long all wood is oak, Maple Birch. about 4 cords of my oak are seasoned for 12 months. but the maple and birch and oak is only seasoned for only 5 months. the pile is about 50 from the house. i have an empty sun room that measures 7FT wide 7FT tall by 24 long should i store wood in it i would keep only a cord of it inside , im guessing it would dry the wood faster because its coverd and gets lots of Sun light, i would keep a window crack open for ventilation purposes. the purpose is to cut the times going back and forth to the wood pile on colder days.

Probably fine for convenience, but to speed drying you'd probably do just as well to re-stack outside in single rows with space in-between. Drying wood in a solid block 7'x6'x32' seems like drying a wet towel by wadding it up in a ball and leaving it on the basement floor.

i forgot to add that all wood is cut to 18 to 20 inches and split i have 5 rows stacked outside. there is no wood currently inside thank you for the quick responses.

I'm not an engineer but I am thinking at some point you will have to consider the load bearing capabilities of the floor in terms of how much wood you can stack over how much square feet.

Reactions: macattack_ga