Should I switch to Electric for Hot Water?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

daveswoodhauler

Minister of Fire
May 20, 2008
Massachusetts
Ok, here is the deal... I have been monitoring oil useage since December of 2006, and then in 2008 we got our insert. (Did a search on this, but came up empty...I know I saw a similar post a while back)

I currently have an oil fired boiler, with one of those tankless units above the boiler.

I have seen a great decrease in oil usage during the winter months due to the insert....gallons per day were appx 3.4 prior to the insert, and we now use about 1.8/day during the same winter months....not 24/7 burners.

If I look at my oil useage during the non winter months....say early May through the end of Oct, I am using about 1 gallon per day...so at $2.80 a gallon I am spending about $84/month for just hot water when the heat is off....maybe thats not that much/month? Just seems like a lot to me.

Current electricity costs are 15.1cents/kwh...so I guess I am asking those folks that heat water with electric what their normal useage would be?

Current household is a party of 5..2 adults, 3 kids....all boys....no one takes a long shower....wash all clothing in cold water.

Does it make sense to just go to a decent Electric Hot Water Heater? (Assuming oil prices increase at the same rate as electricity)

Never owned/used electric hot water before, so I have no idea on what a typical monthly useage might be.

Mods, feel free to post in the green room if it belongs there.