Should there be built up on the burn pot.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

referee38

Mar 27, 2011
Eastern Pa
I am in my first year with a pellet stove I have a P43. Question is should there be built up on the front of the burn pot as the stove burns. Hope this is not a dumb question. By the way my wife loves the heat from the stove. :)

Harman owners will chime in for sure but I believe that a bottom feeder like a Harman pushes the ash out of the front of the pot with the incoming pellets... the pellets should not be overflowing...

referee38 said:
....Question is should there be built up on the front of the burn pot as the stove burns...

Can you explain what you mean by that? Do you mean ash, pellets, carbon, something else?

If ash, yes. You should have an inch to an inch and a half between the burning pellets and the edge of the burn pot.

Un-burnt pellets should not be overflowing off the end of the burn pot.

Carbon will build up in the burn pot.

Hitch said:
referee38 said:
....Question is should there be built up on the front of the burn pot as the stove burns...

Can you explain what you mean by that? Do you mean ash, pellets, carbon, something else?

If ash, yes. You should have an inch to an inch and a half between the burning pellets and the edge of the burn pot.

Un-burnt pellets should not be overflowing off the end of the burn pot.

Carbon will build up in the burn pot.

Hitch is absolutely correct. In heavy use I open the door and clean the ashes off once a day. Some people only do it twice a week.

Yes I would call it ash.
Ed