Since I'm not an electrician...

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

TresK3

Jul 12, 2007
Cincinnati, Ohio
...I need confirmation on something. (and since I'm not a trained electrician, I hope I'm using my terminology correctly)

We plugged in the dehumidifier in the garage and turned it on. Very quickly it started tripping the ground-fault interrupt. I checked the dehumidifier wiring with my meter and got some continuity (about 5K resistance) between the neutral end on the plug and the ground. I believe the resistance should be infinite (no continuity). Yes?

I pulled the neutral wire off, where it goes into a "distributor box" (??), leaving a pigtail from the plug with one leg going to the switch and the other to the motor. If I disconnect the switch leg, I still get continuity on the neutral side of the plug. I can't disconnect the motor leg, short of cutting the wire. I assume from this that the motor has a short. Yes? Or can I not tell, just from what I've done?

I'm guessing my only easy option is to ditch this dehumidifier and buy a new one - replacing the motor wouldn't be worth the time or trouble.

Have I diagnosed this correctly? Am I missing anything? Do I have any other (good) options?

TIA,
Tres

did you try something else in the outlet? some appliances dont work well in gfci outlets

If you were touching the leads while measuring, you might get a false reading. But I do believe that you should not get any continuity between neutral and ground on an appliance when it isn't plugged in. As briansol said, some motors will trip a GFI when nothing is wrong.