1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

SkyTech 3301p questions

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by scajjr2, Dec 15, 2013.

  1. scajjr2

    scajjr2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Loc:
    Kingston, NH
    After getting my 3301p on Tuesday (4 days late) and having long work days this week, I finally got to install it yesterday to our Harman P43.

    Programed it to the schedule we want and it worked fine all day. But 2 issues did pop up last night and over night.
    First at 11pm last night when the program was supposed to drop the Set temp from 70 to 65, it didn't change and I had to do it manually. I did check the programed setting and it showed 65.
    Then this morning when I got up at 6:15 I saw that the Set temp was still showing 65 and not 70 as I programed it to do at 6am. And the day still showed the Sat Eve not Sun Morning.

    Stove was burning fine, flame roaring away when I got up, display on remote showed the actual room temp was 65.

    So what I did this morning was to replace the Skytech batteries in the remote to some new ones then I reprogrammed the schedule again.

    So did I get crappy batteries from SkyTech with the remote or does the remote have an issue?

    Sam

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. scajjr2

    scajjr2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Loc:
    Kingston, NH
    Must have received a defective unit. Woke up this morning at 3:45 to find Set temp still showing 70 and when I checked the time of day it showed 8:44 pm. Returning it.

    Sam
  3. myhearthisonfuego

    myhearthisonfuego New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    30
    Loc:
    Central MA
    3301 is old get a new model, like the 5310
  4. scajjr2

    scajjr2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Loc:
    Kingston, NH
    Yup that's what I'm doing, returning the 3301p, the 5310 will be here Wed.

    SkyTech's response to my email about the issue was "is the time of day set correctly?". Yup all 3 times I've re-set the thing up. The problem is it can't seem to keep time. Should have taken the fact when I got it the box with the 3301p the inner box was open and all the bits were rattling around inside the shipping box as an omen of issues to come.

    Sam
  5. scajjr2

    scajjr2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Loc:
    Kingston, NH
    I ended up reprogramming this 5-6 times. It got to the point where it would almost keep time correctly but when it would get to the next time segment that I programmed it would always show the Set Temp from the 1st time segment that the remote started from (after I reprogrammed it). As in: I had it set to kick up at 5AM to 70 degrees and at 8:30AM go back down to 64. Except when 8:30 came around the Set Temp on the remote still showed 70 degrees as the target temp not 64. And would never change to 64.

    5301 arrives Thurs (damn snow storms mess with my deliveries lately)

    Sam
  6. Love the Heat

    Love the Heat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    102
    Loc:
    Val Des Monts, Quebec ,Canada
    Let us know how you are doing with new one, I'm also curious to know the main difference between the two of them..
    Regards
  7. scajjr2

    scajjr2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Loc:
    Kingston, NH
    It's a back-lit touchscreen model, other than that it appears to be the same according to the description.

    Sam
    Love the Heat likes this.
  8. scajjr2

    scajjr2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Loc:
    Kingston, NH
    Well I didn't care much for the 5301p. Only 2 time periods available and on the one I got the touchscreen was horrible, like I was punching it with my finger to get any response. Returned it and got another 3301p. This one works great.

    Sam

Share This Page