Skytech for Mt Vernon AE Freestanding

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by kpereyra, Jul 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kpereyra

    kpereyra
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    Fairfield County, CT
    Will the Skytech 3301pf work on a Quad Mt Vernon AE? Is there anything about the Mt Vernon that dictates which programmable remote thermostats will work? Are there any other brands out there I should consider for a remote programmable thermostat? I like the look of the 5301 but it does not look like it is programmable.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. stoveguy13

    stoveguy13
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    984
    Likes Received:
    27
    Loc:
    CT
    i am assumeing that it is a AE since it is on order it has to run on it wall control that come with it
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  3. jtp10181

    jtp10181
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,725
    Likes Received:
    1
    Loc:
    Madison, WI
    The AE will ONLY work with the control it comes with as stoveguy said. I heard a rumor about a wireless control in the future but nothing official.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  4. kpereyra

    kpereyra
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    Fairfield County, CT
    So in order to get the best results for heating the entire house, I'm assuming I need to mount the thermostat far enough away from the stove, preferably even in another room? Perhaps I should think about running the wire prior to the installer showing up. For some reason I don't think they'll do the type of job I would.

    Any idea why the AE is so specific about it's controller?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  5. jtp10181

    jtp10181
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,725
    Likes Received:
    1
    Loc:
    Madison, WI
    You want to mount it on an interior wall, not in the direct path of the blower, for the best results.

    It is so specific because it has many sensors and controls that display information on the stat. The stat has icons on it like, low fuel, open hopper, etc.. It will also display error codes referenced in the troubleshooting guide. Dealers can also hook up a USB cable to the control and upload new fuel tables if/when they are available.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Entire Site copyright © 1995-2016 - email to webinfo@hearth.com
Hearth.com and HearthNet are property and trademarks of Hearth.com LLC Advertising Information