Slab Wood?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

GreyMum

Nov 30, 2011
CT
Hi Everyone,

Still very much a beginner here. I actually split wood for the first time this weekend. :) As I stated in another post recently, I am "the wife". :) My husband was quite proud of me, actually. Haha. I used one of these splitter because I couldn't quite figure out the maul. Anyway, kind of curious, as a sidenote, why would anyone ever use one of these manual splitters instead of a maul? The maul is so much more efficient.

Anyway, back to my original question. I was talking to someone at work today who gets slabwood and cuts for firewood. Seems like an inexpensive option, but what am I missing? Would we need to mix with other wood? Anything specific I should ask for or look out for?

Slab wood is fast drying, easy to handle, and readily affordable. However, it burns hotter and faster than cordwood due to the increased surface area of the smaller pieces. This makes it less desirable for full time burning, but the stuff works fantastic when you only need a quick fire to take the chill out of the air during spring or fall (or most of this winter, the way it's been going).

My parents burned slab wood for years. When I was a kid, it would be the annual project to cut up the several loads of slab wood and stack it. Lots of bark and burned fast...but it was cheap. Dad and I now burn scrounged wood...have not purchased it in 20 years. If it's cheap enough...go for it. These days there are so many great sources of wood around us that it's not worth it for us.

Agent said: