Small Foot Pump Splitters?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Joey Jones

Sep 13, 2008
New hampshire
As it is my first year burning I have found much of my wood above the 20% moisture content range. I was thinking of buying a cheap foot splitter to reduce the larger pieces to smaller pieces so that they would dry faster and catch fire faster....Here is the link I have found and for $200 plus $30 shipping seemed like a plausible idea....http://www.westcoastminisplitter.com/ please tell me what you think!
J.J.

Interesting idea, but that's a lot of coin for a slow, not-too-powerful apparatus. I've used those (the pneumatic version) and was not impressed at all.

Assuming you're able-bodied, buy a mega maul from Iron&Oak;, and just pop the big pieces apart by hand, with gravity's help. You'll be surprised by how much less work the 15lb triangle requires as compared to a standard 6- or 8-pound maul.

What is a 15# triangle? And admittedly so I am handicapped with a spinal injury. So have little strength and endurance

JoeyJ said:
What is a 15# triangle? And admittedly so I am handicapped with a spinal injury. So have little strength and endurance
What the 15# triangle refers to is a type of manual splitter originally sold by Stotz as the "monster maul" - an all steel maul with a 12-15 pound triangular steel head, and about a 24" steel pipe handle. Stotz is now out of business, but other companies are stlli selling clones of the original.