Small LP Stove for kitchen

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ecfinn

Dec 12, 2005
Ambler, PA
Hi all,

I've never had a gas stove before as I've been using a Lopi wood burning insert for the past 5 years. We've recently finished framing/insulating a new kitchen that's 12'x20' and we've got a space in it for a stove. Originally we'd planned to put in a small wood stove but its looking like that'll take up too much space so now we're considering a small LP stove. The kitchen is around too many corners to get any heat from our wood insert. We don't have LP at the house now but we've been thinking of adding it for cooking and this might just seal the deal for us getting it if we can find a good small LP stove. We're only looking for a vented model.

So any suggestions/ideas?

Eric

If you built the room "Crab's A$$" tight, you only need about 30 BTU/SF to heat it.
240SF x 30BTU/SF = 7200BTU output (appx 10K input).. That is a really small stove & most stoves
are rated considerably higher.
Jotul makes a couple down near that range on the low end in the GF100 & GF200.
Neither has a heat exchanger, so venting considerations are limited to low vertical or
strictly horizontal. If vented horizontally, both have small clearance to combustibles
at the rear & that might be desirable in a limited space.
There are others out there, but I'd start looking at units in the 10K - 12K input MINIMUM...
HTH