smoke leaking out firebox door when closed

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

tjvt

May 1, 2014
VT
Newly installed Tarm SP 40. Smoke periodically leaking out firebox door when door closed and locked. Usually at the beginning of a burn. Insufficient draft? Anything I can do to remedy. I assume it's not a door seal issue since it's a brand new unit.

I'm no expert but I wouldn't think it shouldn't actually be leaking out the firebox door. Maybe from somewhere else, like the baro damper or air intake or something like that. Can you do the dollar bill test on the door seal?

There are countless threads on leaky door seals around these parts. Assuming you're boiler shouldn't leak because it's new would be an incorrect assumption! Do a quick thread search and you'll find tips and tricks to make this issue go away.

You're not the first and won't be the last to find this issue on a brand spankin new boiler.

First check the door seal with a dollar bill. Open the door, lay a dollar bill across the door frame, close and latch the door, see if you can pull the bill out. If you can your door needs adjusting. If it's tight go to step B
Which is checking your draft. You should have -.02" to -.06" water column.
Adjust your barometric damper or chimney accordingly to arrive in that range.

If you have smoke coming from pipe joints and other places you definitely have draft issues with your chimney. Does this happen only when you first light a fire and the flue is cold or does it do it all the time?