Smoke out of my stove pipe

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

bjorn773

Sep 12, 2007
Rockford, Illinois
I've been burning for about 6 years now, about 4 cords a year. Tonight I had something very strange happen. I had a decent fire going with smaller kindling, that was approaching the nice bed of coals I like to have before putting any big splits on. I opened the door, loaded the stove and closed the door. The wood seemed to be taking a while to get going, so I cracked the door to give it a bit more combustion air. Smoke started billowing out of every connection in my stove pipe. I shut the door, the smoke ceased. I am assuming that my chimney was not warm enough and that the draft was not sufficient. I have burned this stove the same way for years and never run into this. The only change this year is a piece of wire mesh at the chimney cap. The wire spacing is 1/2" squares. I installed it because I have had a few birds go down my chimney and end up in the stove. I have a hard time believing it would cause enough of a restriction to do anything. Did I just plain not have the chimney hot enough? The flue thermometer was reading about 450 at the time.

The wood was oak seasoned two years. It has been in a bin inside my house for a few days and appears to be dry. I don't have a moisture meter, so I cannot give a specific moisture content.

you might want go up on the roof and check the screen. or get binocs and take a look to see if it's blocked.