1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BIGISLANDHIKERS

    BIGISLANDHIKERS Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    316
    I have a mt vernon ae. Has anyone else get any smoke ouside when running on higher levels. I don't get what I would call alot...just a little. Mostly notice it when I'm running on high. It's been enough over time to turn a large area of siding sooty.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. hearthtools

    hearthtools Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,019
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    Try adjusting the air MORE AIR
  3. jtp10181

    jtp10181 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,724
    Loc:
    Madison, WI
    You can't really adjust anything on the AE except the flame height and the fuel type unless there are some hidden features I don't know about.

    Rod I can't believe you didn't rant about the direct vent setup... as he has said many times with the direct vent setup you will get crud on the house. I always explain this to customers up front and if they don't mind it we will do it. If they don't want it they can pay for the extra venting to go up to the roof.
  4. hearthtools

    hearthtools Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,019
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    Im blue in the face saying over and over DONT direct vent
    LOL
    see the bottom of my help page
    Tips on if Your pellet stove is burning lazy and or getting smoke in the house
    http://www.hearth.com/econtent/index.php/forums/viewthread/13419/
  5. BIGISLANDHIKERS

    BIGISLANDHIKERS Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    316
    No there is no way to adjust the air unless flame height does that and I already have it at -5...the lowest setting. I believe this adjusts the feed rate. If I was to go all the way up my verticle would have been about 20 feet or more. My stove is in the basement.
  6. jtp10181

    jtp10181 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,724
    Loc:
    Madison, WI
    How far out from the wall is the termination cap? You might be able to extend that a little to alleviate some of the soot buildup.
  7. BIGISLANDHIKERS

    BIGISLANDHIKERS Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    316
    About a foot of pipe and then the cap.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page