Smoke puffing out door into house

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Atward

Dec 12, 2008
Western NC
Hello,
This is my first post. I am new to using wood to heat my house and have found this site to be valuable. I bought an Appalachian 4 n 1 insert, and it is my primary heat source for a 1950's brick ranch. Today I got a phone call from my wife informing me that smoke was puffing out the door of the stove and the house was filled with smoke. I have seen small amounts of smoke puff out the vents, but never the sides and top of the door. I called the dealer when I first noticed the small puffs, and was told it was a small backdraft that probably happened bcs. of wind. I have a insulated stainless liner running up the chimney, cap at the top, and had the chimney cleaned and inspected before installation (which I did myself). I have not trimmed out the stove yet, so I have access to the increaser/ reducer and when I hold a lighter up to where it sets into the stove top the flame goes into the stove / pipe connection (air is entering the pipe there). Is this a negative pressure problem, stove problem, installation problem?

Sounds like a negative pressure problem.

What else is running? How about a cloths dryer, over over-the-stove vent, bathroom vent... anything that pushes air outside. Is you central heat running, it could also be drawing too much air form the room with the insert.