smoke snorting hot!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

johnstone

Jan 24, 2006
Eastern Pa
I'm burning a freestandin Osburn Victorianaire MKII..a fairly large woodstove and the only source of heat for my 1500 sq. ft. home here in Eastern Pennsylvania.I've been burning this stove for about 18 years with only a few repairs to it, it's in decent shape for an oldtimer.The stove is top vented,and the flue is 20 ft. tall, made up of rigid 7" SS flue liner going straight up and out the roof. I've always had a real good draft.
The other night at bedtime[10:00pm]I put in three pieces of ash and damped the fire down about 85% for the night [the wood I'm burning is mostly ash, oak and maple and is well seasoned and stored in a dry wood shed]. Through the glass, I could see the firebox quickly fill up with smoke, and I noticed the thermometer on the stovetop read 350-400 degrees. I woke up at 1:30 am to the sound of water hissing from the kettle on the stove. I got up and went into the kitchen and the thermometer read 600-700 degrees and orange flames could be seen rolling violently through the glass.