So overwhelmed! Guidance needed :(

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ToddWebb

Mar 12, 2015
Pennsylvania
Hi Hearth Board,

Newbie here, about to move to farm country. I'm stumped on the myriad heating options.

Lil' backstory: I bought an empty lot near Gettysburg PA. I'm about to build a pole barn (professional builder doing that). We can expect 3 months of freezing weather each winter. I will live in this barn for two years while saving/planning my future home. This barn will be my primary place of work, and my brother's, even after I move into my future home, so the barn will be climate controlled, always. The barn will have a small office (ie: bedroom) and full bath, other than that it's 16' walls, 4,000 sq ft fully open space.

We're going with radiant floor heating - that's settled. We're heating the pipes from outside the barn - that is also settled, I think.

I think we want a combo log/waste oil burner. We'll keep it fueled with oil for those days we don't get around to stoking the fire - that could honestly end up being 3/4 of the time. We have 12 acres of woods, but will also buy firewood (because we're lazy city folk).

That's what I know. Here's what I don't know:
  • Is a log-burner (over wood burner) advisable? So that we can use larger logs, and spend less time chopping wood? I see a lot of online info about wood burning, of course, but the word "log" rarely comes up.
  • Is a dual-unit ideal? Or two separate units better?
  • I assume the boiler(s) must be set onto a concrete pad?
  • Do these boilers just sit outside? Or must I build a shed for them?