Soap stone cleaner

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

racerx

Dec 21, 2008
Maple Park,IL
I have a soap stone burner,what is the best cleaning agent to apply on the tiles,it is getting that whiteish kinda color, around the outside of the front door...I am a bodyman by trade,and was wondering if a mild buffing compound would work,if so i will take it bto the cabin for christmas.Thanks guys

My stove manual says to remove stains with fine steel wool.

I don't know about stoves but I lightly sand and use mineral oil on my sink. The mineral oil will turn the soapstone dark and bring out the grains in the stone. If you don't like that look just wait a while and the stone will fade back to its original color

Hold on. What brand of stove? A woodstock has a rough finish and you can grind it with steel wool. A hearthstone, many many times more common, has a polished finish that will be ruined by steel wool. Could you woodstock guys please make that clear so that we don't ruin these stoves?

What is this white stuff you are getting on your stove? If a wet paper towel won't get it off then I have to wonder what it is. I have had stove cement from the stove's original construction become more apparent over the years of burning but it can be cleaned off with water (soaked with a wet rag to loosen) and a paper towel.

here is the hearthstone tech bulletin for this, if its a HS...

Beauty, consistent heat and uniqueness are some of the characteristics that make HearthStone
soapstone stoves so special. The proper care of your soapstone will keep these features for a