1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Some help installing a new wood stove chimney

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by bayshorecs, Sep 28, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    45,822
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    I'm not sure. A friend has had a system very much like yours, but with 3-4' lengths of class A on order for 2 weeks now at dynamitebuys. They are backed up on orders. We hope to get a ship date later today.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. bayshorecs

    bayshorecs New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    214
    Loc:
    Central Illinois
    Think galvanized pipe will be fine on the outside for a season until the chase is built up next year?
  3. Hogwildz

    Hogwildz Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    6,673
    Loc:
    Next to nuke plant Berwick, PA.
    I ordered 4'ers for my rigid chimney liner, came shrink wrapped on a pallet, each pipe in its own box. I personally would go longer lengths, less seems, easier/faster installation.
    Mine had no dents, and as I said, came each pipe in its own box.
  4. bayshorecs

    bayshorecs New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    214
    Loc:
    Central Illinois
    Hmm...looks like I also need a 12" section of duratech below the Tee for a clean out since the Tee needs to be above the bracket.
  5. Hogwildz

    Hogwildz Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    6,673
    Loc:
    Next to nuke plant Berwick, PA.
    Not if the T goes through the bracket and you can get an end cap on it & access it. Otherwise you a 6" or 12" would help.
  6. bayshorecs

    bayshorecs New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    214
    Loc:
    Central Illinois
    6" it is. Just spoke with dynamitebuys. They are out of 5', 4' and 3' pipe with a truck coming in this week to fill orders and have a little overflow. I hope I make this week!

    Also think I will change to 4 - 4' sections instead of 5 - 3' sections. I get 1' more foot of length and will cost me $5 less.
  7. Brian VT

    Brian VT Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    807
    Loc:
    Southern VT
    I ordered an 18" since I have the same situation. It requires a 24". The 18" only protrudes 4" into the room.
    No biggie, I'll throw the 18" up top. I was (technically) 12" short anyway. I hope I can find a 24" locally so I can install this weekend.
    Another after-thought...they sell black Dura-Tech for going through the wall since the 6" in the room will show. I'll just have to paint mine.
  8. bayshorecs

    bayshorecs New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    214
    Loc:
    Central Illinois
    How deep is your wall on the inside? I suspect your T is not right up against the thimble where you are losing the space. 8" block should leave 10"-6" for after wall. So you have 4" for block to drywall depth and for coming out the outside of the T. I think the studs on my drywall are only 2" (4" just seems like too much from my memory of measuring it) sot hat leaves me 2" for the outside play.
  9. bayshorecs

    bayshorecs New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    214
    Loc:
    Central Illinois
    I also have a 6" piece on order for the bottom of the T for cleanout. Worst case, I can steal that for another 6" on the thimble install.

    I hope not, that will mess up the rest of my measurements...ugh..
  10. Brian VT

    Brian VT Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    807
    Loc:
    Southern VT
    My inside wall is 3 1/2" framing + 1/2" sheetrock. The tee has to be away from the outside wall to get my 2"+ clearance between the chimney and the outside wall. Your results may vary.
  11. blel

    blel Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    265
    Loc:
    Southeast CT
    Not trying to confuse things, but I just bought Matalbestos classA pipe and they say it only needs to protrude 4.5" into the room. Just curious why the difference.
  12. 04074

    04074 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Loc:
    Sothern Maine
    My metalbestos install manual says min 3" into the room...
  13. Brian VT

    Brian VT Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    807
    Loc:
    Southern VT
    I dunno. I saw that in the Selkirk manual when I was planning to use them.
    Simpson requires 6" into the room to meet the 6" min. clearance of the DVL dbl. wall interior pipe. I'm okay with it.
    I originally had my stove planned at the minimum to the back wall. It would've met code but I'll sleep a little better with a couple inches on the safe side both inside and out.
  14. 04074

    04074 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Loc:
    Sothern Maine
    I guess I don't understand this, if you measure straight in (along the class a) there is no combustable, only the thimble.

    You would have to measure at least 2" out from the class a at the wall to the stove pipe for your 6" combustable distance, resulting in less than a 6" room penatration.
  15. Brian VT

    Brian VT Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    807
    Loc:
    Southern VT
    You are correct, Kenn, but I'm going with what's in print. I'm sure that's what my insurance company would want.
  16. blel

    blel Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    265
    Loc:
    Southeast CT
    I checked my manual again just to be sure and it does say 4.5". What model of pipe is yours? Mine is Metalbestos Sure Temp.
  17. 04074

    04074 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Loc:
    Sothern Maine
  18. 04074

    04074 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Loc:
    Sothern Maine
    Yea, you're right http://www.selkirkcorp.com/WorkArea/showcontent.aspx?id=4366
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page