1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

soot throughout the house

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by turbot2112, Dec 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. webbie

    webbie Seasoned Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    12,382
    Loc:
    Western Mass.
    I though about that (moving it outside), but you might not be able to see small amounts of black soot coming out the blower.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. hearthtools

    hearthtools Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,019
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    Sometimes a particular stove may have a problem
    I took out a Meridian that work great in my showroom to install as a demo. Connected in up at the personas house works great

    then back out my store in the same spot connected a brand NEW made this year Meridian in the same place.
    It is burning like crap. the stove soots up black in 2 hours.
    I can only get .10 PAS on my magnahilic with the Air control All the way out. Need about .12 and you normally get that with the air half way out.
    I check the door GOOD
    Checked the Ash pan door GOOD
    Check the burnpot GOOD


    Im going to check the Voltage reading on the combustion blower tomorrow morning.

    So what im trying to say
    I could be anything. Even an SO CALLED expert like me is stumped sometimes.


    Replace the door gasket
    Check the ash pan if any for seal
    check the burn pot that no air is leaking around it and all air is going in the holes IN THE POT.
    Check to be sure you did not get something in the Flue pipe when you were installing it.

    In the past I did a big BOOBOO
    we used to pre burn all our stoves at the store.
    We installed a stove and it would not burn.
    Took the vent off and Found I left a rag in the Flue outlet that I put in there so soot would not get on the carpet of the house.
    OOOPS

    http://www.hearthtools.com/install/DONOTDIRCTVENT.jpg
    http://www.hearthtools.com/install/nodirectvent2.jpg
  3. turbot2112

    turbot2112 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Loc:
    northern nj
    it sure looks like the burnpot isnt seated flat all the way arond .i thought i read somewhere that some burnpots had gaskets.ill check that out now. thanks jeff[quote author="hearthtools" date="1198052818"]Sometimes a particular stove may have a problem
    I took out a Meridian that work great in my showroom to install as a demo. Connected in up at the personas house works great

    then back out my store in the same spot connected a brand NEW made this year Meridian in the same place.
    It is burning like crap. the stove soots up black in 2 hours.
    I can only get .10 PAS on my magnahilic with the Air control All the way out. Need about .12 and you normally get that with the air half way out.
    I check the door GOOD
    Checked the Ash pan door GOOD
    Check the burnpot GOOD


    Im going to check the Voltage reading on the combustion blower tomorrow morning.

    So what im trying to say
    I could be anything. Even an SO CALLED expert like me is stumped sometimes.


    Replace the door gasket
    Check the ash pan if any for seal
    check the burn pot that no air is leaking around it and all air is going in the holes IN THE POT.
    Check to be sure you did not get something in the Flue pipe when you were installing it.
  4. hearthtools

    hearthtools Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,019
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    See this post for a update
    http://www.hearth.com/econtent/index.php/forums/viewthread/12660/
  5. turbot2112

    turbot2112 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Loc:
    northern nj
    well finnally got my stove running the way it should be no thanks to the dealer who i got it from. as mentioned earlier in this post i incorrectlly installed the vent pipe which actually cured 1 major problem! as far as the dirty glass,when i received this stove it was missing the vacuum line for the auger motor so i took it upon myself to get 1. appairently the 1 i installed was to small. no were in my manual does it state the correct size the vacuum line should be.i installed a quater inch fuel line high heat hose and it looks like it took care of the dirty glass. the glass still gets dirty but not half as quicki. i dont think the dealer has a friggin clue about this stove because the few times i talked to/emailed them , i mentioned the vacuum hose with a question mark and they didnt say a word about it. bottom line i will never ever by something like this over the internet again . customer service is horrible. if i would have bought a stove from a local dealer and had these problems they would have been resolved a heck of a lot quicker. leson learned. thanks to all who tried to help. thanks jeff
  6. webbie

    webbie Seasoned Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    12,382
    Loc:
    Western Mass.
    Glad to hear that you got it running...well, if nothing else you now know the stove quite well, and that will help you in the future if you have any problems. In fact, you can come here and help others!
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page