Souped up OPEL?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

JMc

Feb 2, 2013
I'm a gas guy. That's what I do for a living, but I love wood. This is why I have researched and found what I think is a great unit, the RSF OPEL. I am hoping the "wood burning gurus" on this forum can guide me in my quest to have the ultimate combo heating system.

Here is what I am proposing:

1 - OPEL with the bottom louver open and the top closed in (for the look I want and for practical reasons that include getting at the electrical and damper controls)

2 - Installing the 2-8" gravity heat ducts off the top of the unit. If I am correct one has to be dedicated for a gravity vent and the other can be both gravity and with a tee added it can be used in combination with the inline external blower for central heating. I am assuming.