South Eastern PA, First Season Burner

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

flipadelphia26

Feb 18, 2014
Oxford, PA
Hey all.

This is my first year burning wood for heat, as well as my first time owning a home. Moved from the City out to the country... It has been a much colder than average winter it seems, and we have gone through just about 4 Cord of wood. We have paid anywhere from 170 to 200 and some better than others...

I have a free standing woodstove in the front of the house, and a prefab in the back of the house that throws heat upstairs via heatilator. We havent turned on our furnace which supplies heat via baseboard once this winter. This has kept our gas bill pretty close to what it is in the summer time.

Next winter I want to save even more money by getting logs and chainsawing and splitting my own wood.

Problem is, I am having trouble sourcing these logs. Does anyone have a suggestion as to where I might look to get logs delivered once the snow melts, so I can get to work for next winter?

Keep your eyes peeled when you're driving around for people having trees removed. Stop and ask if you can have the wood. Even better, ask local tree services what they do with the wood they get. Some sell firewood, but others pay to bring it to the dump and those are the guys that will be glad to dump logs in your yard FREE.

You say you moved to the country, do you have woods of your own to cut in? Maybe you have a neighbor that needs a fencerow cleared, ect.