Split & peel means wet

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

danham

Burning Hunk
Jan 12, 2012
Cape Cod, MA
Only my 2nd season, so I'm still learning and of course dealing with wood that by now is only barely fit to burn (but banking for the future).

At any rate, while trying to pick out the least objectionable pieces to finish the season (he said, on the first day of alleged spring), I noticed something that strikes me as another "field test" for moisture content.

Even though our wood arrives already split, some of the pieces are too big for our firebox or need to be split to have a prayer of burning easily. Whenever I go to that trouble, I also grab the moisutre meter, but I have to say its readings are sometimes pretty suspect other than to give me a general indication of "good" or "bad."

But here's what I've noticed. When a piece is partially split and can be pulled apart the rest of the way by hand, it behaves one way if dry, another if wet. Dry pieces pull apart with a sharp crack. Wet pieces tend to have strips that hang on and peel off the other half, sometimes rolling up like a sardine tin lid if you twist one of the pieces -- just like a small green branch would do if you tried to break it by hand.

Any thoughts on how reliable this "field test" is? It corresponds to the crude meter readings and to how they behave in my stove. And for me, a newbie, it's possibly a better test than weight or external appearance.

-dan

I think that one will be highly dependent on species. Many woods split very cleanly even when dead green (thought they may not sound the same).